UNLV's Larry Johnson becomes first Rebel in college basketball Hall of Fame

Posted at 5:49 PM, Apr 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-02 20:49:39-04

LAS VEGAS (KTNV) — UNLV men's basketball legend Larry Johnson will be inducted into the college basketball Hall of Fame.

The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2019 will include Johnson along with five other decorated former players and three influential former head coaches, according to the NABC.

Johnson will be officially enshrined on Nov. 24 in Kansas City and become the first UNLV representative to become a member of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Regarded by many fans as the greatest UNLV basketball player in school history, Johnson was a dominant force during the Runnin’ Rebels’ run in the early 1990s.

He transferred to UNLV in 1989 and averaged more than 21 points and 11 rebounds per game over the next two years.

Johnson was a two-time consensus first-team All-American, two-time Big West Player of the Year and the 1991 consensus National Player of the Year.

Under Naismith Memorial Hall of Famer Jerry Tarkanian, Johnson led UNLV to the 1990 national championship and then went 35-1 the following year, making a second straight NCAA Final Four appearance.

In his two years at UNLV, Johnson scored 1,617 points and collected 837 rebounds. He is still the program's record holder for most rebounds in a season with 457 (1989-90).

As the first pick in the 1991 NBA Draft, Johnson earned the league’s Rookie of the Year award in 1992 and went on to become a two-time NBA All-Star.

He was also inducted into the UNLV Athletics Hall of Fame in 2002.

The 2019 class includes Indiana's Calbert Cheaney, Duke's Shane Battier, Purdue's Terry Dischinger, Providence's Ernie DiGregorio, Stanford's Todd Lichti, and former coaches Homer Drew, Lute Olson, and the late Rick Majerus.