SportsLas Vegas Aviators


Las Vegas Ballpark will host 2020 Ephesus Sports Lighting Triple-A National Championship Game

Triple-A national champ announce.jpg
Triple-A national champ announce 3.jpg
Triple-A national champ announce 2.jpg
Posted at 1:06 PM, Aug 19, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-20 02:28:41-04

LAS VEGAS (KTNV) — Triple-A Baseball announced the Las Vegas Aviators have been selected to host the 2020 Ephesus Sports Lighting Triple-A National Championship Game, which will be played at Las Vegas Ballpark on Sept. 22.

The game will feature the champion of the Pacific Coast League against the champion of the International League in a one-game winner-take-all showdown for Triple-A supremacy.

The 2020 Ephesus Sports Lighting Triple-A National Championship Game and the city of Las Vegas will once again be showcased to a national television audience. Partnering with FOX Sports, the game will be televised live nationally on FS1 and available for live streaming on the FOX Sports app, as well as to MiLB.TV subscribers via and the MiLB First Pitch mobile app for supported devices.

International League President Randy Mobley added, “Triple-A Baseball has a history of playing special games in Las Vegas dating back to the 1990 Triple-A All-Star Game and the Triple-A World Series in 1998-2000. With the opening of the fabulous Las Vegas Ballpark this year it’s time for us to return with our season-culminating championship game. Las Vegas can host events like nowhere else and we look forward to seeing how the Aviators’ organization puts its own unique mark on the game.”

When this year’s championship event hits AutoZone Park, home of the Memphis Redbirds (St. Louis Cardinals), on Sept. 17, it will be the 14th edition of the game in its current, single-game form. The PCL holds an 8-5 lead over the IL and has won five of the last seven contests. Prior to becoming a one-game showdown in 2006, the two league champions competed in the best-of-five Las Vegas Triple-A World Series at Cashman Field from 1998-2000.

Triple-A National Championship Game History:

2006: Tucson 5, Toledo 2 (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
2007: Sacramento 7, Richmond 1 (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
2008: Sacramento 4, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 1 (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
2009: Durham 5, Memphis 4 (11 inn.) (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
2010: Columbus 12, Tacoma 6 (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
2011: Columbus 8, Omaha 3 (Albuquerque, N.M.)
2012: Reno 10, Pawtucket 3 (Durham, N.C.)
2013: Omaha 2, Durham 1 (Allentown, Pa.)
2014: Omaha 4, Pawtucket 2 (Charlotte, N.C.)
2015: Fresno 7, Columbus 0 (El Paso, Texas)
2016: Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 3, El Paso 1 (Memphis, Tenn.)
2017: Durham 5, Memphis 3 (Scranton, Pa.)
2018: Memphis 14, Durham 4 (Columbus, Ohio)
2019: PCL vs. IL on Tuesday, September 17 on FOX Sports (Memphis, Tenn.)