Bobblehead honors UNLV Runnin' Rebels men's basketball team

Posted at 1:40 PM, Aug 03, 2017
and last updated 2017-08-03 17:01:59-04

The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum have unveiled a limited edition bobblehead to commemorate the UNLV Runnin' Rebels 1990 Men's Basketball National Championship.

 The bobblehead features UNLV mascot, Hey Reb!, on a UNLV logo base with a replica National Championship trophy as well as a commemorative backing.

The 1990 UNLV Runnin’ Rebels team defeated the Duke Blue Devils by a score of 103-73 to claim the National Championship. The team was coached by Jerry Tarkanian and led by Larry Johnson, Stacey Augmon, Greg Anthony and Anderson Hunt, who was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player. They are last team from any of the non-big six conferences (ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10, and SEC) to win the Men’s Basketball National Championship.

 This is the 24th bobblehead released in the series that commemorates schools that have won a Men’s Basketball National Championship. The officially licensed bobbleheads are in stock and ship now. They cost $40 each, with flat rate shipping of $8. They are only available online and there are only 216 available for purchase.

The NCAA has crowned a Men’s Basketball National Champion since 1939, with only 35 different schools winning at least one National Championship and only 15 schools winning multiple championships.