Local News


Magnet Schools of America honors CCSD

Posted at 9:27 PM, May 13, 2016
The Clark County School District received several top awards during the 34th-Annual Magnet Schools of America Conference held in Miami, Florida on May 3-7. The awards ceremony honored schools that displayed a commitment to excellence and innovation in education.
Each of the following schools earned the Magnet School of Excellence Award, the top merit award given to select Magnet schools across the nation that have demonstrated the highest level of excellence:
  • Walter Bracken STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math) Academy 
  • Mabel Hoggard Magnet Elementary School 
  • Sandy Searles Miller Academy for International Studies 
  • James Cashman Middle School 
  • Roy W. Martin Middle School 
  • Advanced Technologies Academy 
  • Canyon Springs High School 
  • Desert Pines High School 
  • Ed W. Clark High School Academy of Finance (AOF) 
  • Ed W. Clark High School Academy for Math, Science, Arts and Technology (AMSAT) AMSAT) 
  • Ed W. Clark High School Teacher Education Academy at Clark High (TEACH) 
  • Rancho High School Academy of Pre-Medicine and Biotechnology 
The following schools earned the Magnet School of Distinction Award, the second-highest level of merit:
  • Kit Carson International Academy 
  • Jo Mackey Academy of Leadership and Global Communication 
  • Hyde Park Middle School 
  • K.O. Knudson Middle School 
  • The STEAM Academy at Jim Bridger Middle School 
  • East Career and Technical Academy 
  • Rancho High School Academy of Aviation 
  • Southeast Career and Technical Academy 
  • Southwest Career and Technical Academy 
  • Valley High School Academy of Hospitality and Tourism 
  • Valley High School International Baccalaureate (IB) Program 
  • Veterans Tribute Career and Technical Academy 
  • West Career and Technical Academy 
Other awards include the following:
  • Region VIII Principal of the Year - Dr. Anne Grisham of Sand Searles Miller Academy of International Studies
  • MSA President's Award - Ed W. Clark High School Teacher Education Academy for 
  • National Secondary Magnet School of the Year - James Cashman Middle School Academy of Mathematics, Science and Engineering for being one of the top secondary Magnet schools in the nation. The school received $2,500 as part of the reward.
  • MSA Poster Design Contest - Roy W. Martin Middle School students Sofia Carillo and Jorge Daniel Aponte, who placed second and third in the contest.
Additionally, Gia Moore, CCSD Director of Magnet Schools and Career and Technical Academies, was elected the Region VIII Director for MSA. She will oversee Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and America Samoa.