Clark County commissioners will be sworn in on Jan. 4

Posted at 6:17 PM, Jan 03, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-04 12:10:48-05

LAS VEGAS (KTNV) — Four Clark County commissioners, including two new ones, will be sworn into office tomorrow morning.

The commissioners who won their elections this fall and are being sworn in are William McCurdy II, District D, who replaces Lawrence Weekly, who was termed out; Ross Miller, District C, who replaces Larry Brown, who was termed out; Marilyn Kirkpatrick, the District B representative since August 2015; and Michael Naft, the District A representative since January 2019.

Commissioners Kirkpatrick and Naft will be sworn in first by Nevada Supreme Court Justice Abbi Silver. Commissioner McCurdy will be sworn in by North Las Vegas Justice Court Judge Belinda T. Harris. Then Commissioner Miller will be sworn in by Silver.

At 9:05 a.m., the board will convene its meeting inside the Commission Chambers. There, the seven-member Commission will select a chairperson and vice-chairperson.

Commissioner Michael Naft, who was appointed two years ago by Gov. Sisolak, said he’s very aware of the issues pertaining to its residents.

“The specific issues in people’s lives may vary from Laughlin to Flamingo on the 215, but when it comes down to it, I think everyone wants a robust health system that will take care of them. I think everybody wants law enforcement that is going to be responsive, a fire department that is going to be available when they're needed, “ said Naft.

He also mentioned he's looking forward to working with newly elected commissioners, as well as with Kirkpatrick. Together they will have to tackle some of the issues that are affecting Clark County residents, like the repercussions of the COVID-19 pandemic including the economy.

“We have to be looking forward to the years ahead and how we can most quickly and efficiently create an economic situation when we're all going to be successful in the years to come,“ said Naft.

The swearing-in ceremony will start at 8:30 a.m. at the Clark County Government Center amphitheater at 500 S. Grand Central Parkway in downtown Las Vegas.