Local News


Clark County appoints two to state Senate, seeks applications for open Assembly seats

Posted at 5:47 PM, Dec 04, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-04 20:47:57-05

Clark County appointed two people to the Nevada state Senate on Tuesday.

Commissioners approved Assemblyman Chris Brooks to Sen. Tick Segerblom’s seat. Segerblom is leaving the Senate to serve on the Clark County Commission.

They also approved Dallas Harris to replace Sen. Aaron Ford, who was elected to serve as Nevada Attorney General.

Clark County is also accepting applications from residents interested in representing Nevada State Assembly Districts 10 and 11 for the next two years. Those seats are currently held by Brooks and Olivia Diaz, who represent Districts 10 and 11 respectively. Diaz recently announced her resignation from the Assembly.

The applications for the State Assembly seats are available through the county website and are due by noon on Dec. 10. Applications may be emailed to Katie Walpole at Kathleen.Walpole@ClarkCountyNV.gov, or delivered to Katie Walpole in the County Manager’s Office, on the 6th floor of the Clark County Government Center at 500 S. Grand Central Parkway in downtown Las Vegas.

Under state law, the County Commission fills vacancies in the state Legislature. The appointees must reside in the district they are seeking to represent, and be of the same political party as the resigning member.

Diaz and Brooks are both Democrats. The appointees will serve until the election in November 2020, when voters will select their representatives for those seats.