Local News

Actions

An uninsured driver hit me. Now what?

KTNV-Default-Image_1280x720.png
Posted at 9:17 AM, Jul 05, 2017
and last updated 2017-07-05 12:18:06-04

It is the law that all drivers in the state must have auto insurance but, in reality, 12-15 percent of Nevada drivers are uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council. That means one of every seven cars you pass on the road could lack insurance.

Maybe that information doesn’t matter to you now, but it becomes crucial if you’re ever in a wreck with one of those drivers. If that time comes, after making sure everyone on the scene is safe, here’s what you need to do.

Exchange information

Regardless of what insurance coverage you or the other driver has, get each other’s information at the scene of a crash:

  • Full name
  • Phone number
  • Address
  • Email address
  • Insurance company name, address and phone number
  • Policy number
  • License plate number
  • Driver’s license number

 

 

Check your policy

See if you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (and add it to your policy for the future, if you don’t). That coverage will pay medical costs for you and your passengers, according to the Nevada Division of Insurance.

The cost of insurance is worth it in these situations, with vehicle accidents costing Nevada residents $356 million a year, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

To break it down on an individual level, state law requires you to follow the 15/30/10 rule for minimum coverage, which covers only the other driver’s vehicle and injuries when you are at fault:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in any one accident
  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

If that amount of money is already overwhelming to think about paying out, you can imagine how important it is to have uninsured/underinsured coverage for yourself if a driver without insurance hits you.

“If you don’t have this coverage and the person at fault doesn’t have insurance, you’re out of luck when it comes to recouping any damages, losses, or expenses you incurred from the accident,” insurancequotes.org says. “ … Unfortunately, the odds are against you if you’re in an accident with someone who doesn’t have auto insurance.”

Contact an attorney

Don’t be scared away by the idea of consulting with legal professionals. They are available to make sure you are not hurt by large companies or the legal system, and are your advocates in dealing with the bureaucracy of insurance companies.

“Being injured in an auto accident can affect your entire life,” local attorney Ed Bernstein says. “From pain and suffering to lost wages, the physical, emotional and financial toll of a car accident can be unbearable. You’ll need an experienced Las Vegas car accident lawyer to help you navigate all the paperwork and legal red tape that comes along with getting you the compensation you deserve for your injury.”

The fact is, no matter how safely you drive, accidents happen and victims need an attorney they can trust. The attorneys at Ed Bernstein & Associates have more than 40 years experience in personal injury law and understand its finer nuances. Visit edbernstein.com or call 702-240-0000 to find out how to get started on the road to recovery.