Local News


3 CCSD schools named for Blue Ribbon honors

Posted at 7:19 PM, Sep 29, 2015
and last updated 2015-09-29 22:19:03-04

Three Clark County School District schools were named 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools on Tuesday.

The recognized schools are Glen C. Taylor Elementary School in Henderson, Sig Rogich Middle School in Las Vegas and Sue H. Morrow Elementary School in Henderson. The national award is administered by the U.S. Department of Education and recognized 335 schools nationwide for overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The selection of the three CCSD schools marks the first time it has had more than two schools selected in a single year. The selections also mark the seventh consecutive year that CCSD had at least one school chosen. Although some CCSD schools have received the designation multiple times, each of the schools that were selected this year are first-time recipients of the award.
Nevada’s Blue Ribbon Schools will join the other awarded schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 9-10 in Washington, D.C. In its 33-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this award on more than 8,000 of America's schools.