Super Bowl and beer go hand in hand, but drinking and driving do not.
Police around the valley will be on the lookout for drunk drivers this weekend.
Las Vegas police says that it will set up a sobriety checkpoint somewhere in the valley between the hours of 6 p.m. and 1 a.m. Feb. 5.
The location selected for this checkpoint has had approximately 33 calls for service involving collisions and 21 calls for service involving impaired drivers.
The last checkpoint held at this location, resulted in 23 arrests for DUI.The checkpoint will focus on identifying drug and alcohol impaired drivers to include juveniles, young adults, and older adults, before they get involved in a collision, thereby increasing the safety for all Southern Nevada motorists.
And it is not just the weekend.
Nevada Highway Patrol has also announced that it is joining forces with the law agencies statewide for a crackdown that will last through Feb. 15. Drivers can expect to see double or even triple the number of NHP and other police vehicles on the road.
The AAA Tipsy Tow Program will provide free tows to drinking drivers between 6 p.m. Super Bowl Sunday and 6 a.m. Feb. 6. Drivers, potential passengers, party hosts, bartenders and restaurant managers can call 800-222-4357 (AAA-HELP) for a free tow home of up to 10 miles. Just tell the AAA operator, “I need a Tipsy Tow,” and a truck will be on its way.
The service will provide a one-way ride for drivers and their vehicle to the driver’s home. If there are additional passengers who need a ride, they will be taken to the driver’s home as long as long as they can be transported safely in the tow truck. Tipsy Tow does not take reservations.
People who find themselves unable to drive should also consider calling Uber or Lyft if they do not have someone with them who can drive. There are also several taxi companies in the valley who can provide rides to anyone who needs it.
Penalties for driving under the influence (first offense) in Nevada are:
- Up to 6 months in jail or 96 hours of community service
- A $1,000 fine
- 90-day driver's license suspension
- Mandatory attendance at a DUI school or drug treatment program
More than 30 people died in drunk driving crashes in Clark County in 2016.