Local News


New Nevada laws set to take effect in 2020

Posted at 3:25 PM, Dec 29, 2019

LAS VEGAS (KTNV) — With the new year coming in just days, some changes and additions to state laws regarding guns, marijuana and vaping will soon take effect. Here's a look at some changes coming in 2020.


If you’re a gun owner, there will be some things to keep in mind.

Starting the first of the new year, an amendment to Assembly Bill 291 allows family members to go to court and ask a judge to temporarily bar someone from accessing firearms if they're a danger to themselves or others, commonly known as a "red flag law."

RELATED: Controversy surrounds Nevada gun bill revived with major changes

"It is an overreach of government power and it strips due process and other constitutional rights,” said Cody Cunningham back in May, expressing opposition to the law.

"Most of the time it is family members who are very, very concerned that someone in the family circle is threatening to harm themselves or others,” said retired nurse, and supporter of the law, Teresa Crawford when she spoke with 13 Action News in May.

The gun show loophole will also be closed in the state as well. This requires almost all private gun sales be run through a state background check, by a federally licensed firearm dealer.


If you’ve tested positive for marijuana, employers can’t use that against you in a hiring process in most cases.


Nevada is the first state to ban employers from refusing to hire those who fail a marijuana test. Exceptions, though, apply to firefighters and EMT’s, or those applying for jobs that require someone to operate a motor vehicle or jobs with the federal government.


If you enjoy vaping, you now won’t be able to do it indoors in most public places and businesses.

RELATED: Vaping, e-cigarettes no longer allowed in many public places in Nevada

The state’s clean air law, which already prohibits smoking, was expanded to include vaping products and e-cigarettes.

Some exceptions include areas in casinos and stand-alone bars where minors are prohibited.


Unlicensed dealer and private sellers now required to conduct a background check through a licensed firearms dealer for all private firearm sales and transfers.

Private sector employers with 50 or more employees are now required to provide their employees with up to 40 hours of paid leave per benefit year. Also, employees can now take paid leave without providing a reason with proper notification.

The helmet law has been expanded to require moped riders to wear helmets on state roads. The new also applies to trimobiles with handlebars and a saddle seat, but not 3-wheeled vehicles with enclosed cabs.

The law now allows prosecution of reckless driving and vehicular manslaughter in parking lots and garages and roads in gated communities and apartment complexes.

The maximum fine for speeding is now capped at $20 for each mph above the speed limit or proper rate of speed. Courts may reduce a speeding citation to a non-moving violation if the offender pays all fees and fines before first court date. It's also now illegal to drive at a speed that results in injury to a person or property.

Participants in trick driving are now subject to a fine of $1,000, 100 hours of community service, driver's license suspension, and impoundment of vehicles used for the trick driving.

Police will be required to notify the Handle with Care Program if a child has been exposed to domestic violence, death of a family member, arrest of a parent or child abuse. Notification will also be sent to schools.

Nevada must fully incorporate the federal Affordable Care Act's protections for patients with pre-existing conditions into state law and help consumers navigate and resolve problems with their insurers.

Prescriptions for controlled substances must be delivered to pharmacies electronically to cut down on fraudulent scrips.

Out-of-network ER providers must bill at in-network rates and work out disputes without putting patients in the middle.

Health plans other than Medicaid must provide maternity care for surrogates.

Dental therapy may be provided by a mid-level provider (between a hygienist and dentist) beginning Jan. 1.

Medicaid will provide more money to help vulnerable populations such as seniors and the disabled to obtain affordable housing.