Local News


28 Oscar-winning movies now streaming on Netflix

Posted at 11:59 AM, Feb 25, 2016
and last updated 2016-02-26 07:24:43-05

Why not Netflix and chill with some Oscar winners?

Before the 88th Academy Awards are handed out to some of the best movies of 2015, take some time to check out a decent library of Oscar-winning movies now streaming on Netflix.

As of Feb. 25, 2016, there were 28 different titles that have won Oscars in the categories of best picture, best director, best actor, best actress, best supporting actor and best supporting actress available from the service.

Check out the full list of movies below, broken down by Oscar category.

Best Picture

“Wings” (1927)

“The Greatest Show on Earth” (1952)

“Around the World in 80 Days” (1956)

“Amadeus” (1984)

“Forrest Gump” (1994)

“The English Patient” (1996)

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998)

“American Beauty” (1999)


Best Actor

“To Kill a Mockingbird” (1962) — Winner: Gregory Peck

“Harry and Tonto” (1974) — Winner: Art Carney

“On Golden Pond” (1981) — Winner: Henry Fonda

“Amadeus” (1984) — Winner: F. Murray Abraham

“My Left Foot” (1989) — Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis

“American Beauty” (1999) — Winner: Kevin Spacey

“Training Day” (2001) — Winner: Denzel Washington


Best Actress

“Roman Holiday” (1953) — Winner: Audrey Hepburn

“Sophie’s Choice” (1982) — Winner: Meryl Streep

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998) — Winner: Gwyneth Paltrow

“Silver Linings Playbook” (2012) — Winner: Jennifer Lawrence


Best Supporting Actor

“Twelve O’Clock High” (1949) — Winner: Dean Jagger

“The Paper Chase” (1973) — Winner: John Houseman

“Julia” (1977) — Winner: Jason Robards

“Good Will Hunting” (1997) — Winner: Robin Williams

“The Cider House Rules” (1999) — Winner: Michael Caine

“Iris” (2001) — Winner: Jim Broadbent

“Inglourious Basterds” (2009) — Winner: Christoph Waltz

“Beginners” (2011) — Winner: Christopher Plummer

“Django Unchained” (2012) — Winner: Christoph Waltz


Best Supporting Actress

“Julia” (1977) — Winner: Vanessa Redgrave

“My Left Foot” (1989) — Winner: Brenda Fricker

“Ghost” (1990) — Winner: Whoopi Goldberg

“The English Patient” (1996) — Winner: Juliette Binoche

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998) — Winner: Judi Dench

“The Aviator” (2004) — Winner: Cate Blanchett


Best Director

“The Quiet Man” (1952) — Winner: John Ford

“Amadeus” (1984) — Winner: Milos Forman

“Forrest Gump” (1994) — Winner: Robert Zemeckis

“The English Patient” (1996) — Winner: Anthony Minghella

“American Beauty” (1999) — Winner: Sam Mendes

The 88th Academy Awards will be held on Feb. 28, 2016.

Clint Davis covers entertainment and trending news topics for the Scripps National Desk. Follow him on Twitter @MrClintDavis.