Local News


Nevada governor names recreational marijuana task force members

Posted at 5:45 PM, Mar 03, 2017
and last updated 2017-03-03 20:52:31-05

Gov. Brian Sandoval announced Friday the appointments to the Governor’s Task Force on the Implementation of Question 2, the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act.

Director of the Department of Taxation Deonne Contine has been named Chairwoman of the Task Force and Chuck Callaway of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department has been tapped as Vice Chairman. The first meeting took place Friday.
“Last November, voters passed Question 2, which legalized recreational use of marijuana. I have asked stakeholders, law enforcement officials, top regulators, and legislators to work together to ensure Nevada fulfills the requirements of the measure without compromising the state’s commitment to public safety,” Gov. Brian Sandoval said in a statement.

“While there is speculation that the federal government might change its current marijuana enforcement practice, we must move forward based on the timeline of the voter-approved initiative and enforcement standards that exist today. My charge to the Task Force is to work together to make sure Nevada’s market for recreational marijuana is responsible, restricted, and respected.”

The other task force members include:

Richard Whitley, Executive Director, Nevada Department of Health and Human Services

Lynn Hettrick, Nevada Department of Agriculture

James Wright, Executive Director, Nevada Department of Public Safety

Wesley Henderson, Executive Director, Nevada League of Cities & Municipalities
Local Governments

Dr. John DiMuro, DO Nevada Chief Medical Officer, Nevada Department of Health and Human Services

Dagny Stapleton, Nevada Association of Counties

Joe Pollock, Deputy Administrator, Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Nevada Medical Marijuana Program

Tom Robinson, Deputy Chief, Reno Police Department

Kevin Schiller, Assistant County Manager, Washoe County

Michael Pawlak, Director, Clark County Social Services

John Ritter, Nevada Dispensary Association

Alec Garcia, 374 Labs

Andrea Zeller, Executive Director, Churchill Community Coalition

Jill Tolles, Nevada Assembly

Nelson Araujo, Nevada Assembly

Tick Segerblom, Nevada Senate

Joe Hardy, Nevada Senate