Local News


6 nominated in Washoe County for 3 vacant legislative seats

Posted at 11:38 AM, Sep 22, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-22 19:19:47-04
Washoe County commissioners will choose from six nominees to fill three legislative vacancies before an expected special session next month.
Commissioners were unanimous in nominating Sparks City Councilwoman Julia Ratti for the Senate seat formerly held by the late Democrat Debbie Smith. Ratti is already on the November ballot for the position.
The five-member panel is recommending either Jesse Haw or Thomas Taber fill the Senate seat formerly held by Republican Greg Brower. Commissioners nominated Jim Nadeu, Dominic Brunette and Todd Vinger for the Assembly seat formerly held by Republican Pat Hickey.
Commissioners will vote on Sept. 27.
Clark County commissioners are accepting applications through Monday for two vacancies.
A special session is expected in early October to consider publicly financing a Las Vegas NFL stadium and convention center expansion.