Vegas Things To Do

Actions

Historic near-total lunar eclipse to take place in sky over Las Vegas area tonight, early tomorrow

lunar eclipse
Posted at 6:59 AM, Nov 18, 2021

Those looking to the skies tonight will have the chance to see a once-in-a-lifetime cosmic phenomenon.

Around 11 p.m. on Thursday in the Las Vegas area (just after 2 a.m. Eastern Time Friday morning), the moon will move into the Earth's shadow, causing a nearly total lunar eclipse and casting a red hue on the lunar landscape

According to the National Weather Service, the lunar eclipse will last nearly three-and-a-half hours, the longest lunar eclipse in 580 years.

Catch an interesting photo or video of the phenomenon? We want to see it! Send pictures and videos to photos@ktnv.com with your name and we may use it on-air and online with your name credited.

NASA says the eclipse will be visible around the globe, from North and South America, Eastern Asia, Australia and the Pacific Region.

In the U.S., the eclipse will begin just after 11 p.m. PT/2 a.m. ET and reach its peak around 1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET. At that point, 95% of the moon will be red in Earth's shadow. A tiny sliver of the moon will still be illuminated.

The partial eclipse will end about an hour later, and the moon will move out of the Earth's shadow completely by 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET.

Look to the western horizon to catch a glimpse of the eclipse and check local weather reports to gauge visibility standards.

This story was originally published by Katelyn Brown and Wes Peery on Scripps station KSHB in Kansas City, Missouri.