What to know as recreational marijuana goes on sale July 1 in Nevada

UPDATE JUNE 29: Safety is a top priority, heading into the state's first weekend of recreational marijuana sales.  

Dispensaries across the valley say they're working with security companies and with Las Vegas police to ensure the public is safe and crowds are controlled. 

Child safety is also a concern. Dispensaries are supposed to do everything they can to prevent marijuana from getting in children's hands. 

"We really went around the country, looked at the best laws, and brought them here because we want to be the model," says Sen. Tick Segerblom. 

Right now, medical marijuana products already have childproof packaging, but with recreational marijuana, there will be even more regulations.

"Edibles are now required to be in opaque packaging so you can't see the contents for cookies and brownies," says Andrew Jolley, the president of Nevada Dispensaries Association.

ORIGINAL STORY

LAS VEGAS (KTNV) -- You can officially buy recreationally marijuana on Saturday, July 1.

We looked at some of the things you need to know before that day.

RELATED: Las Vegas dispensaries prepare for July 1 recreational marijuana sales launch

A few dozen medical marijuana dispensaries were given licenses to sell their product recreationally to anyone over 21 years old that has a government ID.

If you are over 21 with an ID, you can purchase an ounce of marijuana or an eighth of an ounce of edibles like pot-infused brownies or gummy bears.

You can only smoke in your own home or on your front porch. You cannot smoke on the Las Vegas Strip, in casinos, or in your hotel room.

The concern is that regulators believe 63 percent of the recreational marijuana industry will be tourists and tourists have no place to smoke the marijuana. The assumption is, they may buy edibles instead.

The law goes into effect midnight July 1. Some dispensaries plan to have events where they open their doors at 12:01 a.m.

Print this article Back to Top