Democrats retain control of Nev. state Senate

CREATED Nov 7, 2012

  • Print

LAS VEGAS (AP) -- Democrats have retained control of the Nevada Senate by an 11-10 margin after winning two of five key races.

In southern Nevada, Democratic Sen. Joyce Woodhouse defeated Republican Steve Kirk in District 5, and Democrat Justin Jones won the District 9 race over Republican Mari Nakashima St. Martin.

Republican Mark Hutchison beat Democrat Benny Yerushalmi in District 6, while GOP Assemblyman Scott Hammond beat Democrat Kelli Ross in District 18.

In the District 15 race in Washoe County, Republican state Sen. Greg Brower narrowly defeated Democrat Sheila Leslie.

Democrats are also expected to retain their majority in the Assembly when the 2013 legislative session convenes Feb. 4.